top of page

Dhammakaya Meditation

Components of the Mind


Dhammakaya Meditation is a meditation technique that is used widely around the world nowadays. It was rediscovered in 1917 by Luang Pu Wat Paknam, the late Abbot of Wat Paknam, Thailand. With his great work of meditation, he discovered the body of supreme truth, the Dhammakaya, the truth that had been lost about two thousand years ago, or around 500 years after Lord Buddha passed away.

The Dhammakaya will lead the attainers to true and profound peace and happiness. However, the practitioners must focus their minds on “The Center of the Body” around two-finger width above the navel. The center of the body is the gateway to the Dhammakaya, the supreme truth. When the mind is completely still at the center, happiness and joy will follow. Learn more.

Although Dhammakaya Meditation is developed from the Buddhist tradition, its practice is not limited only to Buddhists. It can be freely practiced by everyone without conflict due to their race or religion. We should focus on the benefits of meditation that anyone deserves.

Luang Pu Wat Paknam Phramongkolthepmuni  (Sodh Candasaro, 1884-1959)

Luang Pu Wat Paknam


(Sodh Candasaro, 1884-1959)


Seven Bases of the Mind

Even though the Center of the Body is the path to true peace and happiness, there are other bases that practitioners can use as the focusing point during meditation. These are the seven bases of the mind according to the Dhammakaya Meditation technique:

1. Nostril

2. Bridge of Nose

3. Middle Part of Head

4. Roof of Mouth

5. Throat

6. Navel

7. Center of the Body

Seven Bases of the Mind
bottom of page